Apple comes up with explanations, after users felt spied on

Apple comes up with explanations, after users felt spied on

1 July 2021 0 By admin

Shortly after the launch of Big Sur, Apple’s newest operating system, the Cupertino giant is facing a new scandal. Users are worried that they might be spying.

Starting November 12, when many Mac owners made the transition from macOS Catalina to macOS Big Sur, they found that their third-party applications installed on the system refused to start over. In the most optimistic case, it takes a long time to start.

Many people have also encountered problems using Apple applications and services, such as iMessage or Apple Pay. The latter resolved on their own within a maximum of 24 hours. The problem was one of oversaturation of Apple servers with requests for certification, recertification, authorization of devices after the update.

As for third-party applications, problems have been caused by Gatekeeper, a security system implemented by Apple with the launch of Mountain Lion. It checks the third-party applications you want to run on a system, if they weren’t created by Apple. This way, you keep your Mac safe by checking a program with the Cupertino giant’s servers. The process is exclusively online.

Usually, gatekeeper checks are instant and invisible to users, in addition to the fact that they only happen once when you start a program for the first time. However, it seems that after the transition to Big Sur, Apple decided to re-check the third-party applications that Mac users have on their computer.

Several security experts have checked what is going on, since their usual applications refuse to start on Big Sur or do it very slowly. When they checked the data sent to Apple’s servers, they saw that your Mac was sending unencrypted information, in text mode, about your programs.

Other experts have contradicted that information, but Apple officials have shown a need to intervene. They have published a cluttered document explaining how Gatekeeper works. In addition, they explained that they will allow users to completely disable the protection mechanism, although it is not the most inspired decision, given that it is meant to prevent the running of malicious or malware applications. on Mac.